The Apiary


Advertise on the NYC BlogAds Network.


Syndicate this site (XML)

Site built and designed by

Logo designed by Tim Bierbaum

Video of the Day
Eleven Heads on 11/11 | Koren Ensemble
Fanatical About

« Epic Interview: DERRICK Comedy | Main | Ask For It By Name: Reggie Watts for DieHard Batteries »

The 2nd Annual Channy Awards - New York Edition @ 92YTribeca - 12.10.9

Channy Awards Show host Rob Lathan | Photo: Mindy Tucker of With Reservation

Last night, the most supportive group of video-making, HD-camera toting, boom-mic dangling rockstars gathered at 92YTribeca to celebrate the 2009 Channy Awards, the official recognition ceremony of the New York chapter of Channel 101. Originally created by Dan Harmon and Rob Schrab in Los Angeles, Channel 101 is the premiere platform for amateur filmmakers to shoot five-minute TV shows that get screened by a live audience and voted on for renewal or cancellation.

Apiary pal and unofficial correspondent Trevor Williams sent us the winners' list and a few highlights: "John Gemberling presented the best show award; Rob Lathan was a hilarious host performing a musical number at the beginning; Ed Mundy (Adult Swim) recieved lifetime achievement award; I ripped off Obama's 'Yes, We Can' speech when we accepted our award; and my parents came." Ed Mundy also chimed in to say: "Rob Lathan did an awesome job hosting; Chioke Nassor directed an opening song/dance number; and we had lots of original videos that will be posted online in the next few days."

Trevor Williams, Adam Newman (Best Show) and Ed Mundy (Lifetime Achievement Award) | Photo: Mindy TuckerTHE WINNERS

Lifetime Achievement: Ed Mundy
Best Failed Pilot: Home Office
Best Commercial: "We can't have children" (Bloomberg for Mayor) (Ed Mundy/Trevor Williams/Andrew Jedlicka)
Best Original Song: "Roboticus" (Roboticus)
Best Production Design: Sandwich of Terror
Best Special FX or Animation: 9AM Meeting (Dan McCoy)
Best Non-Human Performance: The Puppets (Dos Bolas)
Best Female Performance: Jess Lane (101 Plaza, Chicks in the City, Body Buddies, Sandwich of Terror)
Best Male Performance: Chris Prine (Stryker Files, Sandwich of Terror, Scissor Cop)
Best Writing: Matt Koff, Dan McCoy (9AM Meeting)
Best Director: Jeremy Westphal (Stryker Files, Sandwich of Terror, Scissor Cop)
Best Show: The Nice Brothers (Adam Newman and Trevor Williams)


  • The cast of NBC's "Community" presents the Best Show Award (Channy Awards - Los Angeles)
ew five-minute shows from the best young writers and directors in NYC battle it out for the right to be turned into a series.

References (8)

References allow you to track sources for this article, as well as articles that were written in response to this article.

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <code> <em> <i> <strike> <strong>